8274 rebuild

Lewis

I am a complete novice when it comes to winches so i apologise in advance for the probably obvious questions

I stripped the rear winch from the yellow 110 last night as the circlip was missing and the brake hadnt come apart, also the freespool wasnt working correctly and the freespool knob spun freely.

Having taken it apart I soon figured out why the freespool wasnt operational - the keywayed motor input gear had sheared several teeth and split around the centre thus allowing it to become fully floating and to not index with the free spool lever in any position, Is this a common fault? (I'm replacing the input gear for a splined type anyway so its not a concern, just curious)

Despite having no circlip on the brake shaft the brake hasnt separated, even with application of moderate force, Any suggestions? (I have access to a press and pullers etc)

When removed from the vehicle the drum end support fell off, Is this bad? (I know I need a new bush)

The gearbox end drum bushing is stuck in the gearbox. Is this usual?

I intend to put the winch in pieces into the hot parts wash at work, which is a mostly water based solution with a gentle solvent that is used for cleaning heads and blocks, can anyone see an issue with that? Could I also use the parafin wash?

Thanks in advance

Cheers

Lewis :)

Special thanks to the authors of the guides in the tech archive as thats what I used to strip the winch

Right.........

No idea if the gear stripping is a problem, as most of us run the later ones with the uprated motors!

Brake disk is probably just stuck on with rust etc. Apply Wd40 or similar and try a few taps with a soft mallet. They can be a bit tricky to get moving if they've been in situ for a long time - I've had trouble in the past. It sometimes helps to tap the square keys in and out with a pin punch. Be careful not to loose the springs, ball bearings etc when it comes apart.