What is a Gas Guzzler?

As a non-UK resident I have been interested in the developments regarding Gordon Brown's attempts to tax the owners of larger vehicles of British roads. Clearly the media have enormous problems discerning between those vehicles which are high consumers of fuel and those which have a four-wheel-drive transmission-clearly in the case of the Fiat Panda 4x4 this is something of a conundrum.

Having watched this article on the news, my wife turned to me and said is our Defender gas guzzler? I have to say that I was not actually able to answer this with any degree of accuracy as I have absolutely no idea what constitutes a gas guzzler and what does not. Having owned a V8 110 which I'm sure actually drank fuel while it was parked I'm quite sure that this was indeed Gordon Brown's arch nemesis. I'm not so sure about my 200 TDI which are regularly returns over 30 miles to the gallon so perhaps I could open a debate on where exactly the line is drawn between those vehicles which are considered to be guzzlers and those which are not.

Let the games begin!

My 1.1 pug 106 is more of a gaz guzzler than my 4.2 V8 90 simply because it does more miles.

Pug cost costs £110 per yer to tax verses £175 for the V8, but as the pug does 10k miles at 45mpg and the V8 only does 1k miles at 12mpg the pug puts out about twice the amount of CO2

Gas Guzzlers, per se, only exist in the minds of journalists and politicians - i.e. people that don`t live in the real world and actually believe the things they say or write.

I suspect the phrase originally came from America (the clue is the word "gas") where single figure mpg was not unusual in years gone by.