Engine replacement

Chris123

It seems my current engine (2.25 diesel) although running quite smoothly, seems to have a problem. It's got low oil pressure (according to the warning light), and there's plenty of oil being forced through the top breather of the rocker cover. Which I think will take a fair bit of work to cure.

So I'm looking at replacing the engine, and am considering a possible upgrade. But I'm pretty new to this, only engine changes I've done have been to take a 2.25 diesel out, and put another back in.

The options I'm considering are as follows:

• Rebuild one of the other 2.25 diesel engines I've got around and fit that
    Which will definately be the cheapest option
  • Source a 2.5 diesel engine
    I'm tempted by this option as it would be pretty easy to fit (apparently), and there seem to be a few of the engines around
  • source a 200tdi
    Not so sure on this as they seem to be very expensive to get hold of (I am a student!). But it would mean much better economy and power.
  • V8
    It appears that V8s are very cheap to buy, and sound nice too!
    But there's several draw backs that I'm aware of; the bulkhead will need cutting and welding, and I can't weld. The fuel economy isn't exactly great, but I don't do a huge mileage, and can always look into fitting LPG at a later date which will help. I've got twin fuel tanks, so will have to think of somewhere else to fit the battery.
    However the machine is a LWB with the larger brakes, heavy duty springs front and rear, and the stronger series 2 g/box. Water isn't a bother either, as I don't do much fording.

I am very tempted by the V8 route, but is there anything else I need to think about? Is the 200tdi worth the price, it could be fair few hundred to find one?

Thanks,

Chris