Just How difficult is a lane

gazelle

I am fairly new to greenlaning, and have been enjoying some of the lanes around where I live in Surrey.

Green Lane and Silkmore Lane have proved easy (bar the usual ruts, blocking logs and fly tipping).

Climbing London Lane was not quite as straight forward as expected (but the Defender coped without problem). Sheepwalk lane was fine. Drove Road was easy (but I see what you guys have been saying about the damage from other irresponsible users).

Descending Beggars lane though was a bit of a blood pressure raiser for someone not expecting the deep cuts in down the middle of the road and accross the path.

All so far have proved possible, more due to the design of the Land Rover than my skill, and I have enjoyed these slow moving challenges.

Now to my question:

Is there any system of grading that has been undertaken for lanes to give some idea of difficulty? Climbers have a system which grades routes; Is there something similar?

I have found some comments on Wayfinder about potential for damage for shiny motors, but nothing that I have found giving hints as to how challenging a lane is to drive. The maps don't really help either.

Any ideas?

Martin

I guess there are two ways and wayfinder is the first and probably best known recorded method which is used by bikes as well as 4x4.

However, a guy in CRAG has devised a new system called track explorer which is like wayfinder but easier to use. When you go into track explorer you simply click on a lane in the area you want which then gives you details.

Biggest problem with wayfinder is there are two versions which both look the same and its worth bearing in mind that a lot of lanes are now restricted byways due to NERC.

The other way is join your local club and either GLASS or CRAG. GLASS as you probably know is countyrwide whearas CRAG is stronger in Wales, Shropshire and West Midlands.

Both have web sites, take a look.

OR you could become rambler!.