Old Man Emu.....or sumat else?

Spoke to the rather nice people from Devon 4x4 at Billing this weekend......told them my vision for my 300 TDi 90 Defender, and it turns out that suspension should be fairly high on my list of priorities, with what I have in mind.

They, and several others, REALLY recommend OME springs & dampers.......

....but what do YOU guys think........

Im new to Land Rovers, and right now dont want to do anything more than fairly sedate greenlaning and a bit of traveling/camping etc. I certainly dont want to take part in anything extreme or competition based (yeah, right.....lets see how I feel on that matter in a years time!!!)

If I was to go with uprated springs & dampers (standard height BTW) would I need to bother with dislocation cones and up-rated turrets, or would I be wasing cash that could be spent elsewhere?? Should I just stick on turrets and cones and forget about them?

Advice & comments please!

Bear in mind how retailers make their money - if they are selling suspension then obviously they will tell you it should be high on your list :rolleyes: if they make money selling kits to correct all the problems caused by big suspension lifts then they will probably try to sell you a big suspension lift kit... :ph34r:

Start with what you want the truck to do and see what currently stops you from doing it - lots of people on here have built very impressive setups with a lot of thought and a little money. Many do it the other way round and achieve far less impressive results :P

I have heard good things about OME but until you have worked out that you really do need to buy some new springs/shocks keep your credit card in your pocket, advice is free round here ;)

Spoke to the rather nice people from Devon 4x4 at Billing this weekend......told them my vision for my 300 TDi 90 Defender, and it turns out that suspension should be fairly high on my list of priorities, with what I have in mind.