Rear mounted radiators

As the temperature difference between air and rad is a big factor in cooling rate I'd guess cooling in parallel is more efficient than in series.

Agreed - also there will already be extra restriction on the water flow due to the long pipes to the back - putting two in series would then restrict flow even more - two in parallel would (of course) ease the flow.

TwoSheds

* My bit of the above is 'in theory' I have no experience of rear mounted rads...

I racer that I look after has two radiators in series in the front. Only the front rad has an electric fan (driver/co-driver controlled) the rear of the two rads is cooled by the engine driven viscos (sp?) fan.

I personally don't find that in this senario that the pair of radiator does anything other than add capacity to the coolant system which is probably what keeps the engine cool.

Not sure if this really adds to the discussion but it is what I have observed with twin radiators in plumbed in series.

if you are going to rear mount a rad wouldn't you be better off getting an huge ali rad from the likes of summit racing (for not much money) and just using one rad?

you can get ras from them for as little as £100 which will happily cool a big block chevy.

if you are going to rear mount a rad wouldn't you be better off getting an huge ali rad from the likes of summit racing (for not much money) and just using one rad?

you can get ras from them for as little as £100 which will happily cool a big block chevy.

Yes maybe thats the way to go............

Its will be running Twin Turbos as well as electric water pumps (im doing away with the mechanical thing...........BTW anyone got a knacked 3.9 water pump they dont want?)

I have heard about the "swirl" effect behind truck cabs is a pain as the hot air does not escape.

Ta