OT: My PC is running really slow

For some time now my PC has been getting slower and slower, most noticeable is that WinAmp slows down when I load a program or open something up, which it never did in the past.

I'm pretty sure I don't have a virus as I don't us Outlook, Express, or IE and have AVG, Spybod S&D and ZoneAlarm running and up to date, although ZoneAlarm's VSMon.exe does seem to use huge amounts (80mb) of RAM <_<

I've tried a few tricks as recommended via the intyweb - shutting down un-needed windows services, uninstalling unused programs, but nothing seems to make much difference. On peeking at the registry, it's chocked full of stuff I don't recognise / even remember installing that surely can be cleaned out, but I'm no expert so wouldn't trust myself to do it and Windows "regclean" seemed to make no dent whatsoever.

I suppose the easy solution would be to format & reinstall windows, but then I would lose a lot of programs and such that would all have to be reinstalled and quite frankly it's a PITFA.

Can anyone offer some tips, or perhaps a link to some system-tidying software that's not full of spyware? <_<

ctrl-alt-del

click on processes and sort them by memory useage and CPU useage. there will be lots that you don't recognise, but take the time to search for them on google- you will find a load that you don't need.

Find administrative tools and use the services button to disbale any processes you don't need.

in the startup folder (under start- all programs- startup) have a look in whats in their and remove whatever isn't needed.

If you have an external Adsl Router with NAT enabled then you don't need a fire wall such as zonealarm (well i don't think you do anyway). you will also fnid that constant virus protection will seriosuly slow your PC down.

when was the last time you defragged your drive as that can make a substantial difference!