Building a off road Defender

Hi all, ive just bought a defender on a galv chassis, 300tdi, 2inch lift kit, snorkel etc but its only a lift kit, im after some serious axle twist, im going to ditch the lift kit and buy new stuff

Ive got a couple of grand saved to put into the landy, where would my cash be best spent?

I know i cant afford a scorpion racing extreme kit etc but i am after:

2inch lowered front turrets

2inch sliding rear shocker mounting

extended brake hoses

already got the dislocation cones

do the caster correct arms help?

need some cranked trailing arms and

some +2inch shock absorbers

does that sound about right? and wheres the best/cheapest place for all this?

Im new to land rovers and want to build a decent tool just as the one in last months LRO

It will be my everyday motor

Thanks

Chris,

Have a look at SimonR's site here, very good articulating kit at reasonable prices.

Castor correction arms will return the castor angle to standard after fitting a suspension lift allowing the steering to self centre again.

What you do go for depends entirely on what you are going to use your 90 for. Are going to be doing winch challenges or are you just looking at green laning and play days ?

Oh and don't mention the Scorpion word on here. Theirs is only an expensive copy of someone else's work.

Mo

going with 2" lowered shock mounts you are going about it the wrong way as you are decreasing 'bump' travel. In my opinion the gwyn lewis or llama kit is the best bolt on you can buy. i would go for standard springs as these will work well and not affect castor ect so save you about £500 as you dont need castor arms-£200 and then a DC prop as you have found you get vibes-£500. good travel is abou a balence of bump and droop.

Welcome to the forum!

With the info on here you should be able to keep most of your money in the bank (and definitely not in Scrapiron's pockets) and build a very capable truck.