300 tdi starting problems

Muddylandy

Can anyone offer any adice? I have a 300tdi auto 96N which I have been offroading for 6 months, but over the last month it has been month or so it has been a sod to start if left for more than a day. I have to crank for 15 - 20 seconds it then gradually starts to fire an after about 5 - 10 seconds of just about running it clears its throat and is fine. Any suggestions would be greatly received. Mark

Is it an EDC (electronically controlled) engine or a standard 300Tdi?

The reason I ask is because the EDC one has a lot more to go wrong with it. Otherwise I would say it sounds like air getting into the fuel system somehow, if it is a standard 300

Is it an EDC (electronically controlled) engine or a standard 300Tdi?

The reason I ask is because the EDC one has a lot more to go wrong with it. Otherwise I would say it sounds like air getting into the fuel system somehow, if it is a standard 300

I'm not sure which 300tdi it is ....how do I tell?

Hi muddy, if its EDC there will be no throttle cable to the injector pump, just a wiring multiblock. With the auto there is a cable from the throttle pedalto a bracket on top of the inj. pump with a lever connected to another cable connected to the autobox-this is the kickdown cable. If it is EDC then check the connections are clean/dry for the inj. pump and also the air flow meter near the air filter box. Secondly check for air /diesel leaks in the fuel sys up to the inj.pump, is the fuel filter clean/ sealed? Finally if the fuel liftpump is leaking back- dodgy valves- this will cause similar probs. Liftpumps are a common failure and are cheap and easy to replace.....

oh yes and welcome to LR4x4 hope the above helps

cheers

Steveb