Leaking DPS pump on 12J engine.

David Sparkes

A blatant second post, the original is in Classifieds, placed there just in case someone had such a pump for sale.

It seems not, so I've reworded the topic, and will just look for what advice is available.

The High Pressure Diesel Fuel Injection pump on a 12J (2.5) engine is leaking fuel at the rate of about 1 drop per second while the engine is running. I cannot see exactly where it's leaking from, the closest I can get to is halfway along the body, on the side closest to the engine block.

I've no prior experience with these devices, so it might be a simple failure, with a simple repair, or not.

I'm not sure whether to try and pick up a 'known' good one from somewhere (any suggestions?),

or go to someone like 'addocks to see what they can offer,

or have 'my' pump overhauled.

Officially it hasn't done an inter-galactic mileage so shouldn't be worn out, but the evidence is that the PO ran it like this for some time. He didn't do many miles, so any repair cost wasn't justified by the fuel saving. Mind you, he probably didn't realise that washing the front propshaft UJ in diesel is a good way of knackering it.

Anyway, suggestions on the best way forward will be gratefully received.

Cheers.

In case it doesn't say in my profile, I'm in Derbyshire, about 5 miles from Paddocks, as it happens.

I also intend going to the Peterborough show, in another vehicle, on Sat 9th Sept.

I have one of these pumps down the shed David, so I got the spanners out! :)

There's quite a few placed on the engine block side of the pump that could leak. Most possible leak areas are sealed with O-rings, or sealing washers. There is a gasket however, that I suppose is the most likely to leak, although I have experienced the injector pipe connections leaking in the past - compression washers either side of the fittings and I only had to tighten the bolt to cure the problem. Some pictures that might help anyway:-