AVM freewheelhubs

^^^ What he said - I doubt very much they'll even fit a 90 as the hub flanges have a different number of bolts in them. Early 110's had 2x4 mode and the 2x4 conversion kit includes a pair of defender FWH's, but to my knowledge 90's never had this unless someone has retro-fitted it for some bizarre reason.

Oh and if you did fit them, your vehicle would have to be driven everywhere in difflock or you'd be going nowhere :rolleyes:

But just for curiosites sake how do they get fitted?

I presume you have to take something off the hubs and then fit these between the wheels and the hubs.

I'm new to owning a 90 and I'm trying to understand how various bits work and as I was given a pair then they are on the list.

Thanks

But just for curiosites sake how do they get fitted?

I presume you have to take something off the hubs and then fit these between the wheels and the hubs.

I'm new to owning a 90 and I'm trying to understand how various bits work and as I was given a pair then they are on the list.

Thanks

Grossly simplified the manual freewheel hub replaces the standard hub drive member and provides a means of disconnecting the hub from the driveshaft splines by means of a splined sliding collar.

You might get an idea by looking at AVM freewheel hubs

as I was given a pair then they are on the list.

Steve - understand that they are of no use on a 90, they will actually hinder the vehicle's operation. 99% chance yours are from a Series anyway and hence will not fit your vehicle. Most people don't bother with them on Series these days as they are just a weak link / something else to go wrong and their benefit has never really been proven.

why a landy loving mechanic would say to put them on as it would save mpg??