Series 3 109 safari restoration project

bazz

Hi, i started restoring a 109 series 3 stawag safari a few months ago (i'm a newbie in restoring, as wel as land rovers, although i wanted to have one since i was three or so). Right now i have everything removed from the chassis and will start replacing some outriggers and welding some bad sections.

One of the first big problems i ran into was (and still is) the removal of the bearings from the transfer box input shaft (the one coming from the gearbox, the box is a of the older type with mixed gears). The green book mentions quite simply that i need to hammer the shaft backwards to drive out the back bearing and then (with the use of some distance peace) hammer it forward to remove the front bearing. I hesitated a bit before i started because i had the feeling they were still okay, but since i replace all other bearings in the transmission i felt i was going to be sorry if i didn't do these as well.

I started hammering and hammering and hammering more heavily and now the bearings do have to be removed for sure, i even damaged the mating surface with the bottom plate as well <_<. Of course the bearings didn't move at all. I tried heating the case with a torch but didn't dare doing this too long.

I put it aside to let it rest and continued with other stuff but i still have no idea how to continue with that.

Any ideas?

The next problem is removal of the castelated nut on the output shaft of the front output shaft housing. The whole housing is removed from the transfer box, the while thjing came apart neatly but only the output shaft is still in place because i can't get that stupid nut of. One of the problems is preventing the while thing from rotating. any ideas there? i tried clamping in a vice with bolts inserted in the flange and a breaker bar in these bolts to counteract.

a lever of 60 cm on a socket and all my weight definitely dented something but did not loosen the nut at all.

Any ideas here?