LR G4 Trek (G4 challenege)

Marc1187

Has anyone here been on or been involved in the land rover G4 challenge event?

I'm a mechanic at a land rover dealer and i've been selected to go along to the regional heats for the g4 trek. The G4 trek is the version of the g4 challenge for people that work within the land rover brand. There are 3 people from every land rover dealer around the country(that takes part) to a team, if we get through the regional heats we'll go into the national heats. The winners of that will then be given the chance to take part in the g4 challenge and goto whichever part of the world that will be held in.

Just wondered if anyone knew whats involved, what to expect etc? My regions heat will be held in honiton 4+5th november.

:( I hope theres not too much running, i dont do running. The cycling i can do, anything with wheels is easy! I chose another member of the team especially for the physical activities, he does triathlons and daft things like that! I was chosen because they know i do a fair bit of off roading, there probably wont be much driving though!

It'll be an experiance, and a day off work!

Info here for the next challenge,

A better site was the old 2006 event one, but that's been pulled, as the new one is up,

Yep, was all very physical stuff before, based in Asia and South America, Next event is based in China etc

You may pick up some info Here but mainly covers the vehicle used in the last two events

Thanks for the info.

I dont have too much faith in getting through to the next stages but it'll be a good experiance either way. The third member of the team is a saleswoman with very little idea of whats involved and isnt into anything physical, we'll give it a good go though!

Although i have just started looking into a new job so i may never get there if i leave!