Adding a supercharger

smo

I'm seriously considering trying to add a supercharger to my TD5 engine on the d-Lander, in addition to the turbo.

Has anyone ever tried this (other than VW with their Turbo/supercharged engines) and are there special considerations i might have overlooked??

What about compound turbos? the smaller turbo boosts as normal and a larger turbo kicks in when boost rises giving you the best of both worlds. Its like VGT turbo but more so. They are DIY fabbed for cummins engines so can't see why you can't do a TD5. keeping boost down would be the biggest problem

Gaza

What about compound turbos? the smaller turbo boosts as normal and a larger turbo kicks in when boost rises giving you the best of both worlds. Its like VGT turbo but more so. They are DIY fabbed for cummins engines so can't see why you can't do a TD5. keeping boost down would be the biggest problem

Gaza

I have very little knowledge of how these work so designing a system using one would be er...tricky!

I have very little knowledge of how these work so designing a system using one would be er...tricky!

here is a link to a pic http://rides.webshots.com/photo/1136225115042569021oFQERr

This should give you an idea of how they go together.

I would imagine it to be a lot easier and cheaper than adding a supercharger.

you would be keeping the original turbo and feeding it into a bigger one. in the cummins

world people have had sucess with a wide range of turbos indicating the you have a range

of larger turbo choice and size is approximate rather than exact.

The size is roughly twice the CFM of the smaller one.

Don't write it off so quickly, compound turbos will be the next thing for performance diesels.

I think the diesel Audi that won le mans was compounded.

Gaza

Personally I'd sell the TD5 and fit an LS1 :)