ARB Diff lockers

bombx3

on my 200 tdi i am running large tyres and keep breaking diffs also fed up changing them (althou its easy)

If i fit arb,s then i have to change shafts ect as i have 10 spline and arb,s are more,the changing of shafts ,cv,s ect ,and electrics no props but diff internals never done before.Do arb give all the diff bits as a package to do the job in the diff.I feel as i can save quite a sum doing it my self ,i can strip modern motorcycle engines and rebuild no probs so not a complete novice,If any one has fitted one advice would be very helpfull

Regards

Ray

I think the only special tool you need is a funny (NPT?) tap to put the fitting into the diff which you can get from Ashcrofts as we got one a few years ago.

I have never done one myself but having watched somebody else do several and having what I consider to be a reasonable amount of mechanical common sense it is a job I would have a go at myself. If you can strip and rebuild engines then I should think you would have no problem. I think Ashcrofts site has a guide to doing it anyway.

A 1/8 NPT tap for the airline ..................... and a dial gauge for setting up the backlash ..................

However, I think you run 37's ................. and they are never going to sit comfortable with 10 spline diffs .............. with ARB's in as well, I guess you had better get a good stock of shafts in ! ;)

Here you go ................. pinched from D90.com as it was sucjh a good article......

ARB_Rear.pdf

:)

Ian

When I bought mine I looked at building/fitting them.

While it seemed straightforward (you get full instructions when you buy them), considering that a pair will cost over a grand then £150 to have them both built seemed worth the expense.

i have been quoted 160 +vat plus £85 postage for two=this anit going to happen ,

A 1/8 NPT tap for the airline ..................... and a dial gauge for setting up the backlash ..................