Advice please!

Paul Wightman

I have been accused of not taking the forum seriously of late so I thought I should change my ways before I get thrown out!

There seems to be a problem with the same questions being asked over and over again. Answers come from many sources, there are the knowledgeable, there are the ‘guessers’ and there are the armchair experts who know diddly squat!

Come the end of a thread the person asking the question is none the wiser.

Which mig welder is a prime example.

HERE

HERE

HERE

HERE

HERE

HERE

HERE

HERE

HERE

HERE

HERE

And finally HERE

There are some very good sites such as THIS ONE which has people qualified to give good advice.

One problem is when someone says they want to spend £300 on a welder it doesn’t help being told they need to spend £1000 or a 3 phase 600 amp plant is the only way to go.

I am no forum expert but is there no way a definitive answer can be found, be it via a poll or answers provided be those who know what they are talking about and it become a locked topic in the archive section?

It would avoid having to trawl through the same topics over and over and bad advice being mixed with good.

Any ideas?

Good idea Paul but I'm not sure 'which MIG welder should I buy?' or 'What's the best colour for my Landy?' have definitive answers, just lots of opinions :rolleyes:

Thats said though don't the better, ie more 'definitive' threads from tools and fab, get put into the tech archive?