Recovery point location

I am trying to find a good place to fit my recovery points as they had to be moved from their position in front of the chassis rails on the bumper when I fitted the nudge bar. I now need to get them mounted somewhere, so is there any other place on the bumper that they can safely go? I understand that the strongest place would be in line with the chassis rails, so would putting them either side of the outside edge of the bull bar mounts be too flimsy and bend the bumper forwards if it was under load? I also thought about putting them inside the bull bar mounts where the number plate currently is, so it shouldn't be so easily bent, but again, if it's not safe I won't do it.

Someone with some experience of how to do these things properly care to share some advice with a complete novice?

To show where the points were and now where the bull bar is mounted:

Bull_Bar_Comparison.jpg

As you rightly say in line with the chassis rails would be the best place- as a second best I would suggest moving them just inside the a bar- if you go outside there is the risk of the ends bending under a really heavy pull. I would suggest it is much less likely that the middle of the bumper will bow out- I would also advise sliding a piece of steel angle or plate inside the bumper and use that to spread the load by bolting the eyes through it as well. A piece that spans the full distance between the chassis rails would be the best but sliding it inside the bumper may be a bit tight...but not impossible :D

At the very least a spreader plate on the inside of the buper behind each recovery ring should be used to prevent the bolts from pulling through the relatively thin steel of the bumper.

Shrek

The recovery eyes have plates for the other side of the bumper already, but I think the spreader plate between both chassis is a good idea as well.