Tack welding ali with MIG

MogLite

I've got a SIP 175A MIG welder.

I need to build a transmission tunnel for MogLite, I'd like to do this from 6mm ali, as I have some, and need it to be strong enough to mount handbrakes and auto shifters etc.

The shape will be quite complex, so I'd like to tack it together in situ, before handing it over to an adult for proper tig'ing.

With the welder turned up, a reel of ali welding wire, and argoshield gas, will I be able to spot it together ?

I'm okay on steel welding, but I've never tried ali welding before.

I've got a SIP 175A MIG welder.

I need to build a transmission tunnel for MogLite, I'd like to do this from 6mm ali, as I have some, and need it to be strong enough to mount handbrakes and auto shifters etc.

The shape will be quite complex, so I'd like to tack it together in situ, before handing it over to an adult for proper tig'ing.

With the welder turned up, a reel of ali welding wire, and argoshield gas, will I be able to spot it together ?

I'm okay on steel welding, but I've never tried ali welding before.

I found welding ali with a mig pretty hard. I think at least in part this was due to the mig being DC and using argoshield. AC with Argon is apparently a lot better.

It was very temperature critical. There was a threshold themperature where the surface tension pulled the weld pool into the gap. outside this, it just formed a bead on the surface. Trial & error! Even at the right temperature, the welds were less than good.

I would suggest using some of the ali-weld stuff to tack it together. It's a whole lot easier and plenty strong enough for this. It will probably work out cheaper too.

Out of interest, 6mm thick? Are you intending it to be bullet proof? Even if you've got loads of it, I think you are just making life hard for yourself. Make the handbrake mountings out of thick material but derrive the strength in the rest of it from it's shape.

Si