Zenith 361V "non-atomisation of fuel"

serious2a

I am a newbie having recently joined the forum because I have a so far insuperable problem. I thought the thread started by Betsy (Zenith 361V problems) on Dec 6th last was going to provide some sort of answer to my problem but unfortunately it hasn't. I made the decision to start a new thread on this subject because the old one seemed to have died out without any answer to help me. Perhaps someone will inform me if I should have added to the original thread or started a new one as I have opted to do? (This will help me when posting in future).

Now to the real business:- My series 2a has a 361V which is, as far as I can make out, in perfect condition -that is to say it has had ALL its joint faces perfectly done on plate glass with wet & dry ( even double checked with prussian blue in proper engineering practice), has had the "economy" diaphragm and all gaskets replaced, including the venturi O-ring. The float needle makes a perfect seal and the float height set to 34mm (deliberately set slightly higher than recommended to give a lower level in the float bowl). The butterfly spindle is totally unworn and all the jets & air/petrolways seem to be clear - I having checked the latter with a pressure oil can, (easier to check the circuits this way rather than using petrol which goes everywhere before you can tell where it's coming from, or wire which won't turn corners!).

And what do you know! - after all this it still dribbles blobs of unatomised petrol down the venturi on top of the butterfly causing the engine to make sucking/gurgling noises as the neat liquid fuel passes round the butterfly. The effect diminishes somewhat, but not entirely as the revs are lifted from tickover. This, then is the nub of the problem. One question I have is:- Does a "perfect" 361V do this or does it atomise the petrol into a fine mist/spray as I certainly imagine it should. I wouldn't expect much in the way of MPG if it didn't!