Defender Locks

I have a 83 Defender 110 3 door. All three locks work manually and appear to be 2 different models but nearly identical. The ignition key doesn't operate any of them. Can they be changed by a locksmith to accept the ignition key? Also where can I get an ignition key blank? I'm a bit a newbie so bear with me. Thanks a lot.

I have a 83 Defender 110 3 door. All three locks work manually and appear to be 2 different models but nearly identical. The ignition key doesn't operate any of them. Can they be changed by a locksmith to accept the ignition key? Also where can I get an ignition key blank? I'm a bit a newbie so bear with me. Thanks a lot.

The lock barrels themselves are an easy DIY swap over to replacement ones- no need for a locksmith. A set of three keyed alike (i.e. the supplied keys fit all three of them) door lock barrels can be bought for about £10. I believe that dealers can also supply a set of door locks matched to your existing ignition key... might have dreamt that bit though :unsure:

Any key cutter should be able to supply a suitable ignition key blank.

Shrek

I think you dreamt that bit, Shrek :)

Welcome, 110 USA :) You'll always have a seperate ignition key and door locks. The best you can do is to have all the door locks and fuel filler the same then you'll have to carry 2 keys, surely not to much of a burden ;)

Mo

I've got 2 keys - 1 for ignition and locks + 1 for fuel cap.

The 07 has gone backwards IMHO in that you now have to unlock and then physically lock the fuel cap. My Td5 was unlock only - it would self lock once screwed back in.

Anyone have any ideas how to remove the fuel cap lock barrel?

When you find out please tell me.

110_USA

When you come to change the barrels on the doors....

If you have that big plte on the inside of the door...