2007 MY Defender

Hi,

I'm new to Defender ownership and took the plunge last year with a new 90 XS and have been nothing but impressed with the cars abilities so far.

From delivery the car has had paint defect on the roof along the seam, the dealer have repaired it once before and I noticed the paint was starting to come off again a couple of weeks ago and its gone back again for another respray.

There is also daylight visible from the bottom corner of the passenger door (closest to the A-Post) and co-incidently there was also white crust in this area, where the black angled vertical post on the A-Post, just inside the door shut where it comes down to meet the floor.

I have obviously raised this with the supplying Dealer and they have said, yes, thats quite normal (crust) and within the manufacturing tolerance of the vehicle and they all are like that (daylight), which sounds like absolute bull@£$%.

I'd appreciate any input from other owners of 2007 MY as to whether they've had the same issues.

Thanks

My door seals etc, are fine,, (110XS) must have been the first thing i noticed, over the 06 TD5 i had, that had "daylight" around the door edges !!

Some of the advertising blurb, was harping on about how the new steel doors seal better, so they should be sorted, and not fobbing you off

All Defenders come with daylight as standard because the factory are too goddamned lazy to build them properly - the difference is whether or not the dealer does the PDI properly and goes round blocking the holes up in the corners as well as other bits and pieces that aren't properly finished ex-factory, like putting the box on straight on 130HCPUs etc etc!

Thanks Tim,

My concern is that moisture is getting in and that's what has caused the white crust to form where the A-Post meets the floor, to a large extent its hidden by the carpet mat, the Dealers response was yes thats normal, yet if its normal I'd expect to see the same on the Drivers side also.