spongey clutch pedal

mobey

Hi guys newbie here to the forum, I have a 2003 Disco 2.5TDI. About a few weeks ago I noticed that when i come to press the clutch pedal down it was very floppy to about a quarter of the way down then you would feel the resistance and the clutch would work as per norm. I took it to a garage who told me it could be the Slave Cylinder to which he put a new one on only to make the problem worse. The pedal is floppy to about half way down before you get resistance for the clutch to disengage. Now the clutch does not slip the gears I can get okish well second can be difficult when cold but it has always been like that.

The guy at the garage told me he thinks its the clutch but I however have my doubts however he referred me to a garage two units down that could change the clutch for me, so when I went down he could not give me a price as he needed to price up the parts. I rang round myself and can get a clutch kit for about £81 delivered so I rang this guy back up and said give me a labour charge as I can get the clutch delivered, he turned around and said oh sorry mate im not interested then if your getting the clutch.

Before I go buying the clutch would it be possible or more likely to be the master cylinder that is at fault and not the clutch itself. I do get a groaning noise from the release bearing only when cold though and she has done 96000 miles

A worn clutch won't make the pedal floppy - just where the bite point is. Check the return spring on the clutch pedal shaft, it may have stretched over time. The pedal should stay in the raised position even if the clutch mechanism and hydraulics are out of the car.

Les.

IME with the D2 I've found that the clutch hydralics can be a bit tricky to bleed. I'd also check that this has been done properly, after the slave cylinder change, if you feel the problem has got worse.

I agree with Les; best off checking simple things first.