Home made rich/lean indicator

ThreeSheds

I have a lambda sensor of the Zirconia type taking up space on the bench and I was wondering if it's possible to make a rich/lean indicator (two LEDs perhaps) using it. I have no real knowledge of electronics, but can solder to a vero-board and have recently put together a Megajolt kit and installation.

Normally I like to 'have a go' before asking and so after a couple of hours on the web I have come up with a circuit which I think may work - however the calculation of the various values and the choices of components are beyond me, so could anyone answer the following questions please:

1. Would it work?

2. What would be the suggested values for R1, R2, R3, R4 and VR1

3. What are suitable common types/codes for TR1 and A

post-3439-1217664458_thumb.jpg

BTW - I have never heard of op-amp's before today - they sure look like useful little blighters! :)

p.s. I just about understand the circuit other than why it has R3 and R4 - but all similar circuits I have seen appear to have them so I put them in :unsure:

Cheers,

Roger

Your circuit would undoubtedly work with appropriate resistor values - although a single indication of rich/lean isn't going to be all that helpful when tuning. You need something to tell you when the output is in the middle. Perhaps you had intended to build three?

I would be more inclined to buy comparators than op-amps as they are more or less pre-packaged as the circuit you want. The LM339 is a reasonable choice. They give a logic high if one output is at a higher voltage than the other and low if not. Use a preset potentiometer connected between your power rails (or better still a voltage regulator) with the wiper connected to one comparator input and the lambda sensor to the other.

The LM339 has 4 comparators on board which you could set up to give you LED's for rich, lean and OK. The output will drive LED's directly through a 330R resistor.