Spray Painted my series 2, help needed!

CJRH

Hi, I sprayed my series 2 on Saturday, the first decent days weather for a long time! I’m no expert at spraying and it’s not a bad job but it would be fair to say that some parts are more shiny than others! I need to cut it back and polish it now, can I just use something like te-cut or should I flat it off with 1200 wet and dry and then use a proper polishing compound? I did get 4 coats on each panel so there is good coverage but I am worried about going through the new paint where the rivets are and where there are dents etc. I sprayed it with cellulose paint.

Cheers, Chris

If the finish has bloomed (caused by cold air and gives the paint a milky finish to it), then T-cut will sort it. A slightly rough or dusted finish can be finished with 1200 wet/dry - used wet with water and washing-up liquid. Rinse off well and the finish would be matt. Then T-cut to get the shine.

Les.

Thanks for that Les, will give it a go and see how it comes up.

Chris

be careful as most diy painters tend not to put enough paint on or get it so dry that flat and polishing is a no no...easier to have taken rivets out then put new on after.....if you flat and polish then use 1200 or 1500 as les said and compound/tut back up with a buffer....i use fast cut and machine polish but i done painting for the last 30 years...if you need more advice then pm me......always glad to help out if i can

It's ok to remove rivets if you don't want to paint them/a panel to fall apart. There's also a possibility that you will damage the finish when you fit new rivets.

Steel panels, such as the front panel may need barrier paint to prevent a reaction between the old and new paints, then a suitable primer/undercoat, such as red oxide, then several coats of the final finish - bearing in mind that if you want a really good shine, you will polish off one coat in every three.