Land Rover Electronic Parts Catalogue (EPC or Microcat)

mahon257

If you own a Land Rover, like me, you'll need a regular supply of parts! Many of us have "acquired" the Landrover EPC, on CD Rom.

This software usually requires you to set your computer clock to the 1st of Jan 2008 (or another date). This can be a pain - especially if you forget to set the clock back to normal after running the program.

So, as I work in IT, I figured it's time I gave something back to this forum, which has helped me on a number of occassions!

When you start the program (called a "script") it sets your computer clock to 01/01/2008 12:00hrs. It then starts Microcat. After you close Microcat - the script automatically resets your computer clock back to normal, and closes itself.

Oh - one other thing, the last action the script takes it to sync your PC clock with special "time servers" on the internet. If you don't want it to do this - open the script in a text editor - like "Notepad.exe", and follow the instructions in the last few lines in the script.

Any questions just post a reply,

Have fun!

------------------------------------------------------------

I would have preferred to provide this program, or "script", as an attachment in a ZIP file - but the forum rules are blocking the upload (which is fair enough!) So instead, if you want to use this, you'll have to do a bit of extra work! Bascially, copy/paste the text after the words "start of script", into a text editor like "notepad.exe". Then, in notepad, save the text file as "C:\MCLRE\Run-Microcat.vbs" (assumming that's where you have installed Microcat). The Script was written for Windows XP - but should work on all versions of Windows later than "Windows 2000". To run Notepad, just click "start", "run", then type "notepad.exe" - and click "ok".

In future, instead of running the normal shortcut for Microcat - run the script instead (double click it, create a shortcut to it, etc).