Clutch Change for Beginners

Hello all - I am a keen but very amateur mechanic - and today my 1994 Defender 90 200TDi clutch release bearing gave a loud noise - and jammed me in reverse !!

Am now mobile again - but loud crunching on full depression of clutch - good thing I have short legs and don't fully depress the clutch when changing gear.

Is a clutch change something I should even think of - and is it engine out or gearbox drop?

If I go to a local landy garage what should I expect this to cost - !

have a read of these threads from our Tech Archive & carried out by members on here

http://forums.lr4x4.com/index.php?showtopic=4380

http://forums.lr4x4.com/index.php?showtopic=6840

Please put your location in your profile as a fellow member may live in your area & be able to assist& have a read of the pinned thread 'new members' at the top of the forums thread listing, the info in it will help you use the forum.

have a read of these threads from our Tech Archive & carried out by members on here

http://forums.lr4x4.com/index.php?showtopic=4380

http://forums.lr4x4.com/index.php?showtopic=6840

Please put your location in your profile as a fellow member may live in your area & be able to assist& have a read of the pinned thread 'new members' at the top of the forums thread listing, the info in it will help you use the forum.

Thanks - I will spend tomorrow working out whether I should take this challenge on - the tech archives are really useful - is ther one which tells me how to get my hands clean enough to examine patients on Monday after operating on the Landy !!

I have hands like a bare knuckle boxer following changing my clutch and gearbox last week :)

The lesson I took away from doing mine is making sure everything lines up before trying to refit the gearbox, and also to allow more time than you think as mine took a good 2 days longer than I thought it would (although just a clutch change is easier)