Driving on Ice

YAS328

With it being around -20 at the moment and only reaching -8 to -12 during the day there are plenty of frozen lochs about. How thick would you consider to be 'safe' to drive on? It hasn't been thinner than 8" since around new year. Under the snow it seems more than 1ft deep. Would it be safe enough to drive on and have a slide about?

Cheers :o

[not serious hat on mode]I think it would be safe enough for me if it was somebody else, not in my vehicle.[/not serious hat on mode]. :P

Eight inch plus thickness of ice would probably be ok, but I've no direct experience to underwrite the statement. I'm sure a grown up, possibly from one of them Scandanavian countries, will be along in a bit to assure you I'm wrong.

DON'T, but if you HAVE to (or want to :huh: ) then here are a few pointers.

- Snowmobiles and ATV’s need at least 5 inches, and cars and light trucks need at least 8-12 inches of good clear ice.

- Carry a pair of homemade ice picks or even a pair of screwdrivers tied together with a few yards of strong cord that can be used to pull yourself up and onto the ice if you do fall in. Be sure they have wooden handles so if you drop them in the struggle to get out of the water, they won’t go straight to the bottom!

- Be prepared to bail out in a hurry if you find it necessary to use a car, unbuckle your seatbelt and have a plan of action if you do breakthrough

-Move your car frequently. Parking in one place for a long period weakens ice. Don’t park near cracks, and watch out for pressure ridges or ice heaves.

-Don’t drive across ice at night or when it is snowing. Reduced visibility increases your chances for driving into an open or weak ice area.

Also consider that although there may be a layer of ice on'top' of the Loch, if the water is regulated the actual

water surface can be below the layer of ice. If you then breakthrough, there is no way to get back up.

How thick?

Pretty bloody stupid on two counts if you ask me;