Cordless rattle guns

mickeyw

Hello All,

I have been looking at 1/2" drive cordless rattle guns for a while now, firstly 'cos they're handy when you're away from home, but also 'cos I am getting pee'd off tripping over airlines in the garage all the time. Oh and my compressor struggles too.

What models do you use and are they any good? I would like something that can cope with removing a tight LR wheel nut and other large bolts, which seems to be a lot to ask of some of the cheaper models out there.

I have looked at Sealey, Clarke, Draper and many similar priced brands for anything between £100 and £250 but I'm not convinced (based on various reviews online) that they'll live up to their claimed performance. Battery quality seems to be variable too. Snap-on and the like really are out of my price range, I am not a pro user.

I have also looked at the Milwaukee 28V gun that Screwfix have on clearance currently. With the 10% off vouchers I keep getting it's still £370 which is big money for a DIY tool.

There's a number crop up on ebay second hand, mostly Snap-on and Facom stuff, but they still go for high prices, and they are of course always a gamble.

Recommendations please gents.... make, torque (claimed) and £ would be good.

Thanks in advance.

I have the milwakee one, and use/abuse it for a variety of tasks!

Including very large self tapping bolts to go through fence posts and railway sleepers (set a bosch drill on fire previously)

Would recommend it.

I only have experience of Snap-on. Good piece of kit, but would never shell out for one myself though!

I have a 2' breaker bar to loosen/tighten and a 1/2" sq drive extension which I have adapted to fit a fairly meaty cordless drill for the rest.

Haha so I'm not the only one to have done that :P I just want a bit more POWER :ph34r: