My New Truck

Hi everyone,

Another newbie here to pick you brains. Saying I'm a newbie, I have worked on LRs in various guises for several years for mates etc, but now I have one of my own.

Here's a picture of my new truck:

aa42_1.jpg

B)

I paid over the odds (I think), in a bout of eBay madness... :rolleyes: I guess the paint-job went a long way to sell it, along with the new roof rack and spots :)

I have just got right in amongst the thing and found a few horrors I didn't find when I first looked, but also some nice surprises too. New gearbox and transfer box, new water pump, new master cylinder, new front cross-member.

Most of underneath looks good. The bulkhead in the drivers footwell is looking a bit shabby and will need cutting out and plating (any advise welcomed - missed that on first inspection - DOH! :( ). There are few spots of electrolisis here and there, but they will be rubbed, scrubbed and sealed. The rear 3rd top cross member has been repaired and plated and could probably do with replacing (again any advice welcomed).

I have removed the wheel from the bonnet and will remove the bolts and cover the holes with chequer plate - watch out in the want ads! :D

Really looking forward to many years of tinkering and fetling. Maybe a Disco conversion in the future ( I assume there's plenty of material on here about that..? 300 vs 200...? :huh: )

Thanks for looking, see ya in da mud soon!

Cheers for now,

CJ

Thanks for all the welcomes!

I am going to run the motor on for a bit - well at least until it breaks!! :P

Really got in amongst it over the weekend, and have ordered 2 footwells from http://www.yrm-metal-solutions.com/

Ronnie Maughan was very helpful, after ordering 1 for the offside, I put a late request in for the near side too and he has combined the postage! Nice chap! :D

Found a few horros and niggles. I am going to have to patch a bit of the bulkhead, not too much of a drama, was thinking about putting in some chequer plate deco!