Sorting out the welder

Okay, with my complete newbie hat on...

I bought a MIG welder (Sealey 180) second hand a couple of years ago and it's been sat in my garage doing nothing since then. Had a play when I first got it and found the wire wasn't feeding properly, but have only just got round to investigating properly. Turns out there are a couple of blockages in the plastic conduit the wire runs in. Other than that, all looks in good order.

So, just need to work out what bits I need to buy. I think I've worked out that the conduit is called a liner? There seem to be both plastic and steel coil versions - bizarrely I can find the steel coil ones cheaper. Obviously plastic will fit as that what it had, would a steel coil one fit and if so would it be any better? Does the plastic type come in different internal diameters like the steel coil?

I'm also going to need to get a gas bottle and a regulator - any recommendations for the regulator?

Planning on finding a local place I can walk into and ask for advice, but I'd quite like to have some idea first...

steel liners for mild steel or stainless wire. Plastic for aluminium wire only, avoids contamination of ali weld. Standard one size fits all (diameter), but get the right length, 3 or 4 meter. You may need to trim it to suit a small amount on the length. As for gauges, keep an eye on e-bay for cheap ones or any welding supplier will sort you out. decide what gas you are going to use then decide on how you are going to get it. BOC will charge you rental for the bottle but if you decide on co2 for gas, you may get lucky and get an old pub bottle and someone to fill it, this will also determine your type of gauge.

hth

Okay, with my complete newbie hat on...