Disco 200TDi into a 110 Hard Top

Hi,

After reading through some very good articles on fitting a 200 TDi (Discovery) engine into a 110 I thought that I would take the plunge. At this point I think it worth saying that I am new to this level of mechanics and have so far limited my interference to the basics.

What I am after is some advice on what maintenance/improvements I can do the 200 TDi engine before it goes into the engine bay of the 110? I currently have the complete Disco, so are there any parts that I can strip from the donor vehicle that will benefit the 110? As there is currently no power steering in the 110 I will be doing that as part of the engine refit along with the Disco transfer box. I will hopefully have some one with greater technical knowledge to assist me…hopefully.

With all the changes I intend to upgrade to a heavy duty clutch kit (possibly Britparts) and clutch arm (again Britpart) – unless any one has an alternative manufacturer/supplier. Do I order the clutch kit and arm to fit the Disco (donor vehicle) or the 110? Or does it not matter? As the turbo is almost dead I was looking at getting it refurbished. I have also been told that there is a conversion kit that enables the turbo to be located higher up, like in the Defender engine, with the added bonus that it gives you a new turbo (and pipes) rather than a just refurbing the old one. Does any one know if this is worth while and if so a manufacturer/supplier?

Greatly appreciate your time

:blink:

I'd use these clutch parts

friction plate 110/130 heavy duty FTC1994

cover plate URB100760

release bearing FTC5200

Contact Les Henson on here by PM as he had some reinforced clutch beraing lever arms for sale for the forum, he might have some left.

not sure about the turbo relocation, leaving it in the original place is fine & there is a Steve Parker kit to connect it. more info here

good luck with the swap & don't forget we like pictures of howthings are going :D