Old Sodbury Sortout

ludylandy

Hi all - a newbie here.

I didn't want to turn my first post on this forum into a rant but after attending this event yesterday at Beaulieu I feel I must share my views.

Having lived in the Bath area for a number of years I used to go to this event when it was held in Old Sodbury and found it to be an invaluable source of parts and an enjoyable day out. When the event moved to Newbury the scale of the event was great, I never failed to find what I was looking for and at a price that was usually cheaper than eBay.

Yesterday it cost the wife and I £17 to get in. :o The Sortout was in a separate field to the rest of the autojumble. There were hardly any trade stands and the whole event was a small fraction of the size of Newbury, it actually struggled to half fill the field set aside for the event. I wasn't there for opening but only managed to find 2 things on a shopping list of 7 items.

Just before leaving the field at 1:30 I overheard a conversation between 2 stallholders saying they would be lucky to break even on the day. That being the case I can't imagine they and other stallholders will bother to return making the event even less attractive to buyers. Needless to say I shall not repeat my mistake next year. :angry:

I went last year as I blagged a free pass so didn't have to pay to get in and could park right next to the sortout field. Even then it was a bit pants.

Didn't bother this year - spent the day fitting a 90 filler neck in the rear wing of my hybrid instead - far more productive!

I went last year as I blagged a free pass so didn't have to pay to get in and could park right next to the sortout field. Even then it was a bit pants.

Didn't bother this year - spent the day fitting a 90 filler neck in the rear wing of my hybrid instead - far more productive!

£17 :o