Stuck in high

Micky-Disco

Tried to go from hi to low range today, but the stick wont budge.

I've read that these sieze, but can be freed with copious amounts of WD40 and stick wiggling.

Now I am no mechanic, and I have no idea where to oil, how to get to those parts, what they look like etc...

Can any one of you Landy Gurus give a step by step guide as to how to do this please?? Maybe with pics :D. I'd take

it to a garage to get done, but we just dont have the spare cash these days, so any help would be fantastic ;)

Cheers

Mick

Have you ever had it in low range before? If not, chances are it's never moved since it left the factory.

Underneath you have the engine, bolted to the back of that is the main gearbox (directly in line) then on the back of that is the transfer box (LT230 in your case) from which the front & rear propshafts run. The linkages go from the top of the gearbox (where the gearstick is, natch) to the top of the front half of the transfer box just behind where the front propshaft bolts on, alongside the body of the main gearbox.

I know access can be tight on Discos, you may be able to feel around especially if an assistant in the car can gently waggle the stick (not too hard in case it frees up and takes a finger with it). WD40 and a lot of waggling is the first port of call, I've seen feet-against-dashboard grade waggling from some people but that's not to be recommended. You can certainly be fairly firm with it though.

You can also get to the lever mech from inside the car......you would need to remove the center console and gear levers/gaiters etc then remove the rubber cover.....this is normaly fixed with pop rivets.

Once you have access you can get to the lever mech and will soon see what is siezed......you can remove the full assembly but its tricky with the pins on the end of the selector levers.

Give us a ring if you want anymore advice etc.....and were local too ;)

Cheers for that you 2, just what I need to get started.