Rover V8 with no pulling power!

Hi there,

After getting our project running we have found that our genuine 3.5 v8 defender has no grunt behind it and a very slight misfire which we think is the problem.

When rebuilding and cleaning the engine we removed all the air recirculation system as there was already holes in it. So with all this gone we found today we had blocked up the two ports on top of the carbs. So with these unblocked the engine runs better. But in third sitting in the low rev range it just cannot pull away with the foot to the floor. :unsure: (not the way we thought a v8 would be)

So my request is can anyone think of any critical pipe etc that we have maybe "misplaced"? <_<

The Leads have been replaced along with the plugs and the rotor arm and distributer cap.

So any ideas ?

Thanks for reading

I have no experience of the pulsair system so cannot say what effect it has on performance exactly- its job is just to clean up unburnt hydrocarbons for emissions.

All i know is that plenty of people block them off with no problems.

When you took the engine apart, was the cam ok? A flat cam will give low power.

For perspective, my 3.5 which has 20k miles on it since i rebuilt (new cam, followers, rings etc) will pull away from stationary in 5th. Its a struggle, but it will do it - i wouldnt recommend it though as it cant be good for clutch etc! :ph34r:

How many miles has it done?

Sorry, the engine was not stripped just cleaned from the outside (via old steamy) and we removed the system and blanked the holes off, So we have not seen the cam but before it was taken out it was running okayish but the grunt was definately there.

We havent touched timings either since it was in the old truck, would this help?

Do you think the engine would need retuned after removing the pulse air system?