Planning permision to extend a workshop.

jules

As some of you know I’m a construction manager but I don't have much dealings with Council planners.

This morning I have been asked to remove a mezzanine floor from a large hub room and get it weighed in for scrap. It is basically the size of a double garage frame and would be a very simple way to double the size of my garage and all I would need to do is felt the top and build infill timber panels and put a set of doors on the front.

The frame is the hard part which I can have for the scrap price

Does anyone know if I need planning permission for this as its 100ft from the road and not visible and its behind the house.

I think you allowed a certain amount of cubic metres for a garage, more than this I think you need permission, I think also that if it has electrics etc these need to comply with building regs, best bet is to ring you local council as they are all a bit different

Mike

As Mike says, your only way to be 100% is ring the council, but be careful how you describe it - remember it will be a temporary structure (bolt together) which helps.

If you read all the rules you'll go cross-eyed, there are numerous exemptions for under a certain height/width/area, temporary construction, more than 1m from a boundary, more than 20m from the road, etc. etc. a lot of the rules seem to contradict each other.

Personally I'd just build it, if anyone notices / grumbles then flog it on eBay, miketomcat will probably have it :lol:

Indeed... been looking into this myself lately. Unofficially if its not going to cause your neighbours any problems and you get on with them ok I'd probably just build it.

Different councils have different rules, but IIRC if its made from timber then it has to be a couple of meters away from boundries as it could be a fire hazzard... how the hell that works when fence panels are made of wood I'll never know!!