on board air

hi i am looking to put on board air on my 110 300 tdi and have got hold of a denso compressor from a 300 disco.will this be suitable to convert for this purpose?i am thinking of getting a non running mains compressor to use for the tank and unloader valve etc.have looked in tech archive it has spurred me on,thanks steve

I have been running one of these for several years now to power air suspension amoung other things.

The first compressor only failed earlier this year.

What actually killed it in the end was corrosion in the internal valves which meant it was running longer and harder to provide the air and eventually it siezed up.

I only had a small breather styly filter on the intake, if you run a better air dryer style filter ideally with an oiler then it should last indefinately but as I got the compressor from e-bay for £40 and have another spare in stock I haven't got round to sorting this out.

I too am using the Denso compressor, on a serpentine V8. Used for tyre inflation, air horns and general air line use, it's been there for 3 years or so with no trouble. It's plumbed into a RRC air suspension receiver.

Mickyw,

The $64,000,000 question appears to be what have you done to provide lubrication for the compressor? Please tell us!

Nick.

Errrm, pretty much bu***r all. I gave it a squirt from an oil can when I first started using the pump for air. The air came out a little oily at first, so I added a cheapo inline filter to my airline. These day I tend to get a fair bit of moisture out of it. If I'm going to pump up a tyre I give the line a blast before connecting to the valve to remove excess wet stuff.

So all in all I don't really look after it at all well :o

I know others who have added drip oilers in the air inlet, and then fitted a oil separator to the outlet to help prolong its life.

• 1 month later...