Engine Tran

Just another quick question, apologies as I seem to be posting rather too many recently, to cut to the point I have been given the opportunity by a friend to do an engine transplant for him in exchange for a few beer tokens.. and being a student I am keen to snap up the opportunity!

Initially it look straightforward... taking one engine out of an M-reg 300tdi discovery manual "the donor" and removing old 300tdi out of the P reg discovery automatic and placing the 300tdi from the manual M-reg into the auto P reg. It looked like a simple swapping of the same engine, however before I accepted I had a quick look at haynes for some further guidance, and after a bit of reading I have to following questions;

1. Will a 300tdi out of an manual(R380) be a direct fit to an autobox?

2. If so is it more difficult than putting a 300 into a manual (I have only ever dealt with manual gearboxes and have little experience or confidence with auto's?)

3. Have I bitten of more than I can chew for student mechanic with basic/reasonable skills!?

This may belong in the discovery forum, however I thought that perhaps it may merit attention in the international forum, hope I haven't pushed my luck!

Cheers

Sam

1.yes there the same block

2.no more difficult as it's a like for like swap.you'll just need to remove the flywheel off the manual and replace with the auto stuff.

3.no not at all.should have it done in a day.

4.are you a man or mouse. :lol:

As he says above. but....

If you have never dealt with an auto before you need to be carefull when you bolt it up or you could damage the oil pump at the front of the box.

Never done a 300Tdi auto before but I assume it is basically similar to a V8 auto.