Gearbox & Axle advise please

Might need a wee bit more info there: Tyre size, truck weight, what is the engine (no point us telling you to buy a gearbox that doesn't fit), manual or auto, intended use, space available?

With no info I vote for TF727 3-speed auto, suzuki SJ transfer case and unimog U1300 axlesthefinger.gif

Hi and thanks for the reply.

Engine Chevy 6.5 Turbo Diesel 215 BHP and 440 lb-ft

Tires size of 37"

Will be used mainly for road week days and pay and ply site weekends.

At the moment i am running a GMC 6.2 non turbo in my 110 with a R380 manual box and Salisbury Disc braked axles.They handle the Torque ok but the 6.2 only puts out 130 BHP and 240 lb-ft torque.Ok the reson for going for the Chevy engine is that I have been making Biodiesel for 5+ years now and they love the stuff even the 215 BHP 6.5 and can't forget the V8 sound !!

I would love to stay with a Manual gearbox if I can .

Many thanks Simon

Hi Simon, I've got two of those engines right now, but I wouldn't be sure about putting one in a Landrover, the 6.5 is huge and weighs a massive amount. If you're using the 110 as a tow vehicle then maybe, but don't expect it to handle!

The 215hp/440lb/ft version is pretty hard to find, it normally came in Blazers, Hummers and I think some cars. The more common pick up engines have 190hp/385lb/ft. Good find if it is the 215hp version.

Gearbox wise, GMC created the 4L80 for this engine to handle the torque, or fitted the NV4500 manual. I'd stick with one of these. Transfer box wise it depends on your axles, but stick with something that was available behind those gearboxes, either the NP205 or Borgwarner 4407. They don't give you a low, low range like your current LT230 does, so maybe look at keeping the 230 if it suits the axles.