The thing about forums is.....

NicTheOrange90

So in my non Land Rover world, I'm work in the wonderful world of technology. I'm involved in advising on a website redesign for my current client (no I'm not a web designer).

I'm saying to them that we [society] will be wanting more from websites and the way we [royal we] consume the information is increasingly changing (for example RSS feeds and tweets mean you can choose what parts of a website and when you visit it as opposed to trawling through every message)....

I'm a keen forum advocate, but they do have a couple of things that [iMHO] could do with addressing to make them more 'user friendly' for all of those who visit.

To explain what I mean, if you take a fictional 'cheese' forum as an example ("what's so special about the cheese growers" etc).

The cheese forums cater for lovers of cheese, forum members can buy and sell their cheeses, as well as ask specific cheese questions (no not the one about the purple vein cheese…)….

After a few years of cheesy postings the forum members have been 'categorised' and to some extent have acquired a certain cheese kudos.

The 'beeeg cheeses' are those who post the most, and the 'crumbs' as they are sometimes referred to are those who joined the cheese forum more recently.

Beeeg cheeses and their cheesy posters are constantly dismayed as the quality of posts seems to be cyclic and almost without fail a new crumb comes along asking a 'really basic' or even 'stupid' cheese question (such as, "Im thinking to invest in a cheese that I can use for….." or "what cheese should I use for …." Beeg cheeses see these type of posts on a regular basis (often when the last one fell off the bottom of the front page) and it has been known for one or two beeeg cheeses to suggest a better use of the search function.