Lifting a discovery

whiteboy

Ok well i have done a search but cannot find any solid information about liffting a discovery 2". Everything i have read suggest different things ie castor correction longer brake hosses etc. What i would like to know is can i lift my discovery with pro comp 2" lif kit (springs and dampners) without any other modifications or will it cause damage? Reason for lifting is to fit bigger wheels on (Anacondas 285/75/16) does this involve a lot of cutting of the arch? Is that an easy job?

Thanks

If they are 285s then you will be expecting to chop bits from the arches.

As for the lift you will need longer brake hoses to guarantee you don't rip them off. Some people don't bother changing the brake lines but IMO it's silly not too. Otherwise you should be fine, you might want to add some dislocation cones too to catch the springs as it's pritty tiresome having to jack it up to put a spring back in.

Dave.

Sounds good. I'm new to discoverys so can anyone point me in the rite direction to get the lift kit, cones and brake lines? Is the lift kit straight forward to fit? Is there any guides on chopping the arches? Will I need cones front and rear?

Many thanks

Lots of options

Gwyn Lewis

Devon 4x4

Qt services

Cones front and rear if you intend to do a fair bit off road

Search "Camel Cut" for chopping the body... careful on the search as it can bring up some graphic images nothing to do with cutting the Disco!!!!

Try and get the correct springs for the weight of the vehicle and weight of accessories you intend to fit as many off the shelf lift kits just supply any old springs which quite often end up being too hard or too soft. Terrafirrmas springs seem to get good reviews from many on the forum.

Dave.