full width intercoolers

gelf

just bought a new full width intercooler for the disco........ wasn't going to but the price was too good.

18062006004.jpg

anyway will there be much noticeable difference to the discos power if i just fit it and dont tweek the fuel pump??........ its just that im not very technicaly minded and if i start messing too much it may never run again. :blink:

or if it needs to be tweeked i'll get someone else to do it.

graham

just bought a new full width intercooler for the disco........ wasn't going to but the price was too good.

18062006004.jpg

anyway will there be much noticeable difference to the discos power if i just fit it and dont tweek the fuel pump??........ its just that im not very technicaly minded and if i start messing too much it may never run again. :blink:

or if it needs to be tweeked i'll get someone else to do it.

graham

It will need tweaking to get a significant difference out of the intercooler. Most come with instructions for how much to adjust things - it is ever so easy to do, really, you can do it but follow the instructions./

Chris

ah ha i spy a fellow straight forward supplies customer.

a few tips from when i did mine - dont expect to do it in one night as once fitted you'll realise the pipework DOESNT FIT. i had to get a few lengths of 2" or 2 1/4" (i forget) zorst pipe to extend them. plus i took the chance to replace that pointless narrow bit of pipe in the lower hose.

i would rough up the ends of the pipe on the intercooler, as i originally had an issue with blowing the lower pipe off. quick run of sandpaper around the metal end gave the rubber hose enough grip & its never happened since.

you must have noticed you need to make your own brackets, i only did one on each side & its been fine since november (been scotland since as well) the bolts btw are the same thread as the ones holding the rad cowling together (really must replace the two i 'borrowed' oneday)