110 'official' braking effort?

First thing to say is that I'm no mechanic whatsoever.

However, my friend and neighbour most certainly is, he rebuilt his landrover , virtually from the wheels up, and is helping to repair my '96 Defender 300TDi 110 cws following its MOT failure.

As part of the repairs it's had:-

New rear brake discs, pads and calipers fitted to both O/S and N/S.

Front NS brake caliper removed and later refitted after fixing issue with Stoneguard.

Road testing brakes on way to MOT at normal braking seemed fine but effect of hard braking, with hands of steering wheel, left steering wheel straight but front of vehicle to swerved to right.

The MOT tester did a brake test before even attempting to do a second MOT, which gave the following results:

AXLE 1 - NS: 320

AXLE 1 - OS: 400

AXLE 2 - NS: 310

AXLE 2 - OS: 310

BALANCE:-

AXLE 1 - NS: 230

AXLE 2 - NS: 300

My buddy would like to know:-

a) what Land Rover's 'official' brake effort figures should be for all-round disc brakes (front vented discs),

and I would like to know, in case he gets busy and can't get work on it,

b) What should be the order of investigation now?

H.

Recheck the assembly/fitting, then re-bleed the N/S front caliper.

Could well still be some air in it.

Cheers

Peter

Thanks, I should've said the brakes were bled just before retesting them.

Other folk have suggested :-

- replacing brake hoses (they're 15 yrs old)

- checking front caliper pistons

But I'd still like to know what brake effort should be.

H.

there is no brake effort figures in the workshop manual, so provided the vehicle passed the MOT brake test, it's fine.

maybe a visit to a LR main dealer will reveal the brake effort figures, if there are any.

Edited by western

Thanks, I should've said the brakes were bled just before retesting them.

Other folk have suggested :-

- replacing brake hoses (they're 15 yrs old)

- checking front caliper pistons

H.