300TDI with EDC into Defender

stobbie

I am just about to, starting tuesday , could be a problem or two ahead, eg elec speedo drive on disco , is it compatible with defender elec speedo ? , does the edc need the speedo input as well ? How much of the edc is interfaced with immobiliser etc any answers appreciated.

I am just about to, starting tuesday , could be a problem or two ahead, eg elec speedo drive on disco , is it compatible with defender elec speedo ? , does the edc need the speedo input as well ? How much of the edc is interfaced with immobiliser etc any answers appreciated.

Have replied to PM biggrin.gif

The Discovery speedo transducer sadly isn't compatible with the TD5 speedo head. I tried it when I fitted the TD5 instruments in mine and had to buy a TD5 Transducer to make it work. To be honest, as someone who is an electronics engineer and has worked as an Auto electrician I would say their is far less work in converting the fuelling from Electronic to manual than trying to install the EDC into a 90. However if that is what you want to do it shouldn't be to tricky to transfer all the electronics over from the Discovery, I suspect the worst bit will be removing the complete engine loom from the Discovery as it goes to lots of different places in and around the body/dashboard (I ended up cutting lots of it to remove it when I scrapped the Discovery but I was only salvaging the wire for later use not to transfer it to the 90).

Some of the immobilisation is controlled by the EDC ECU and some by the 10AS alarm unit. The alarm bit is reasonably easy to bypass if you have access to the RAVE wiring diagrams. I don't know if the EDC uses the speedo input but would suspect it does.

Best of luck.

Pete.