modifying electric winch to hydraulic.

wolfcat

Hi there everyone, I'm a newbie on here and would appreciate your considered opinions on converting a Superwinch Husky 8 to run hydraulic. Since burning out yet another motor!! :angry: I've done a bit of research and find the idea of running hydraulic using the power steering pump ala the Milemarker's (but can't afford them) appealing as a temp option and upgrade later if needed. Since I only use the Husky for logging (I've a wood burner) speed is not a major issue, but the motor would need to be mounted onto the spur gearbox, as a direct replacement to the electric motor due to it's location. As far as I can find, the power steering pump fitted runs 2.4-2.9 gals/min(as it's a Jeep I presume these to be US) @ 1500PSI. Does anyone know of a conversion chart, as I am at a loss to how hydraulic motors are rated!! ie **cc/rev @ 100bar = ??HP(electric) :huh: What size motor would be suitable to maintain/improve the standard line speed and what rpm would it run at? :unsure: Rather have a slow hydraulic winch than no winch.

must be running it direct from national grid to burn out a husky winch motor.

Hi there, I was only hauling a 30ft tree across a section of bog (honest guv :( )!! But in my defence I should say that the motors that have burnt out were second hand and have had hard use. :rolleyes: It's just that with so much to do and so little time (heard that somewhere before) It doesn't look like I'm allowing enough time for the poor little things to cool down I quess :blush: Must do better as my old school reports used to say :)

I think hydraulic motors are much slower than electric motors so you would have to somehow bypass the gearbox in your current winch. The milemarkers have 2 speeds one of which I believe is direct connection to the motor for 'fast' winching the other steps the speed down for more power.