possible auto box

trojan

hello everybody ,

i posted this question in the defender forum but i think i'm gonna try hear .

question is i'm gonna have to change the gearbox on my 90 pretty soon ( lt77 ) , and i've been thinking about an auto box , problem is i don't know much about them and i need some advice .

what i want to know is , is it a good idea ? and will i need to alter my chassis mounts as it's a new galvernised one and i don't want to cut it .

also , how do they perform offroad ?. ie , will i still have engine braking ? i've just started offroading and i'm no expert .

all advice welcome , gearbox and offroad .

cheers ....

You will get two very different sets of replies to this - either gushing praise for the auto box or the opposite.

The pros -

Infinite control for those moments when you are trying to ease over an obstacle.

No worrying about what gear to climb the hill in - just point and shoot.

Much gentler on the drivetrain - offers a bit of extra protection to the Cadbury's axle components.

The cons -

Significantly reduced engine braking, but if you get an experienced off roader to show you how, braking on decents is allowed :blink::o .

The box needs good cooling, but with a little thought can be easily organised.

Increased fuel consumption.

I personally love auto and can live with the engine braking issue. The control you get in all other situations (without the smell of a burning clutch :lol: ) is fantastic.

As for gearbox mounts - I think (not sure about 90's) that the gearbox mounts are bolt on so the worst case would be drilling new holes for the autobox mounts if they aren't there already. I am sure a grownup will be along to correct me on this point :ph34r: .

If you need a new gearbox then I'd go for it. I even have a pedal box for sale that would be right up your street.... :lol:

If you use your vehicle mainly off road I would highly recomend going Auto.