90 rebuild wiper advise

hi all, im new to all this forum stuff so please be gentle.

currently im rebuilding my 1985 90 onto a galved chassis and bulkhead and have got to the stage of building up the bulkhead.

the problem is as ive used a td5 bulkhead my wiper wheelboxes wont mount the correct way up as they used too due to a bracket in the middle of the bulkhead so i have mounted the wheelboxes (td5 ones) upside down and also used my old motor form the original bulkhead.

the big question is will the wipers clear the window or clear the bulkhead?

would prefer to find out now before i finish building up the dash.

cheers

Yes it will work but your wipers will park in the upright position rather than down at the bottom. The fix is to change the position of the park switch ramp in the wiper motor. Remove the cover from the wiper motor, remove the big gear that is attached to the rack cable. On the underside you'll see a plastic ramp, this is clipped in on two posts. You need to prise it out and plug it back in the two holes that are 180 degrees further round the gear. The wipers will now park down the bottom of the screen.

Alternatively get a Td5 motor!

Hope that helps.

Yes it will work but your wipers will park in the upright position rather than down at the bottom. The fix is to change the position of the park switch ramp in the wiper motor. Remove the cover from the wiper motor, remove the big gear that is attached to the rack cable. On the underside you'll see a plastic ramp, this is clipped in on two posts. You need to prise it out and plug it back in the two holes that are 180 degrees further round the gear. The wipers will now park down the bottom of the screen.

Alternatively get a Td5 motor!

Hope that helps.

Hmm i thought there was a little more too it... do what he says ^^^ its easy to take apart.

Hi Ian,

I am nearing completion of my project following the exact road you are taking and used a new TD5 bulkhead which I galvanised.