drivetrain lockup

paul18k

hi peeps, i've just registered so i'm a newbie to this forum and new to four wheel drive too..

i've the chance to buy what sounds like a cheap Freelander diesel (v reg possibly 99), it's cheap due to the drive train problem that it has.

it's done 101,000 miles and is suffering from drive train lockup so can't be moved as is. i've not yet seen the car coz i wanted to know roughly what could be wrong with it, i didn't wan't to waste the owners and my time if it turns out the damn thing is terminaly ill.

this is probably a silly question but, is a freelander 4x4 or just rear wheel drive (a work mate told me it's just rear???), does it have a transfer box? and finaly do the rear diff's give problems as these (transfer box + diff) are the areas i'm suspecting are at fault.

any advice would be appreciated, thanks in advance, Paul

Welcome :)

Viscous coupling seized is the most likely cause, if by "locked up" you mean the tyres scrub on cornering. If you mean total lockup i.e. wheels don't move then could be various things possibly the IRD unit, maybe a diff... hard to say without seeing it.

It is permanent 4x4 but due to the viscous coupling most of the drive goes to the front wheels until they start to spin, then the drive to the rear wheels increases. The "transfer box" is called the IRD Intermediate Reduction Drive, but it doesn't have a low range. Rear diffs are known to go pop, yes.

thanks for the welcome bogmonster :-)

it's a total drive lockup and unable to drive not just tyre scrubbing.

if i like it when i see it do you think disconecting the prop to the rear will make it towable?

i'm thinking if the problem is the rear diff i can put the rear on a dolly then tow it or if its the IRD i can lift the front and tow the rear once the prop is off

thanks for the welcome bogmonster :-)

it's a total drive lockup and unable to drive not just tyre scrubbing.