Finally Had To Do It

BogMonster

though it was down to my own laziness....

I have been using the tie-down rings on the front for hooking the winch cable on to then today due to a minor "misjudgement" I did this:

mmburied.jpg

mmburied2.jpg

Well it looked hard.....

Had to do a fair bit of excavation even to get to the winch cable, couldn't even feel the damn hook never mind get it off! so I had to use the snatch block and double line it as I couldn't free the end of the cable.

A sensible (i.e. much higher up) place to hook the cable on to is a problem to be addressed on my new winch bumper I think :ph34r:

But I learned something useful: double lining a MM in high range actually works quite well, 3 x the speed of single line in low range and I guess about 3500lb pull which was easily enough to move this even when buried down to the bumper. I have never used a snatch block with the MM before (you don't need to in low range) but double line in high range is something I might use more often as it is a good compromise of speed/power :)

A 110 would just have reversed out of that, you chaps and your silly short wheelbases getting both axles in the mire at once..tut ;)

Will :)

Quite right Will, that extra wheelbase allows one to stop before both axels get mired............ :) :) :)

I think your Not meant to use the MM in high for winching at all!

something to do with the flow inside the winch.

Jim D90SV was telling me IIRC

I have heard differing opinions on that Tony ... some say you can, some say not

Milemarker quote a line pull in high range on their website here which would suggest that you can. I'd be interested to hear any evidence that there is a problem though, has anybody broken one doing this? perhaps only if fed on higher pressure than the std pump provides? Jim, any comments/experience on this?