Another P38 overheating......

mollydog10

A friends P38 4.0 with LPG overheating......header tank empty......leaks apparent around the LPG mixer gubbins and a larger leak at (or close to) the bottom of air filter to inlet manifold connection gubbins (sorry about the description, but Im no expert...) Refilled the coolant (+/- 5 litres!!) and run engine on idle. some occasional bubbles apparent, but not continuous. Oil is clean in rocker cover. Engine came up to working temp and stayed there.??? Not driven it anywhere yet or called anyone out to it. Dont think its a head gasket problem as I know the LPG system uses the Hot coolant to vaporise the gas.....any suggestions? (apart from the obvious....) When engine was stopped, coolant "flowed" onto rocker cover and exhaust heat sheild producing clouds of steam.......cant see exactly where its coming from.

Can any one point me towards a garage with P38 knowledge in Frodsham/cheshire area...?

If you lucky, it was just the leaks you detected that slowly drained the coolant. When the level is low enough, you'll get a build up of steam and pressure, bad cooling and eventually overheating and loss of coolant through the valve on the expansion cap.

Sort the leaks, keep a VERY close eye on both the temperature gauge and coolant level, but try to drive it. Also check the bleeding hose (small pipe from the top of the radiator to the expansion tank). It needs to be clear for the system to bleed properly.

You're likely to get some erratic behavior at first while the systems tries to get rid of the air that is now trapped inside. The air bubbles will cause the temperature to spike occasionally, but should return almost instantly.

Good luck,

Filip