Broquet Fuel Catalyst

I don't have one, and have no experience of one. But speaking as an experienced diesel engineer I highly suspect that it's

snakeoil553-thumb.jpg

Edit: "The Advertising Standards Autohrity has banned Broquet from advertising because its claims cannot be scientifically substantiated. There are a mass of testimonials, but no solid scientific evidence. Until it has been tested and approved by MIRA or the AA or the RAC there is no real proof that it works." From here: http://www.honestjohn.co.uk/forum/post/index.htm?t=437

Nice to see the ASA doing some good work.

If it was that effective, don't you think it would be standard for car manufacturers to fit them from new? Never mind that it'd be legislated, the manufacturers all want to give the best economy figures for sales and tax purposes.

If it was that effective, don't you think it would be standard for car manufacturers to fit them from new? Never mind that it'd be legislated, the manufacturers all want to give the best economy figures for sales and tax purposes.

This is what I consider to be the single biggest argument about how effective these things are. If any of these things worked the manufacturers would fit them, for Ford to be able to claim there cars were a few percent more efficient than Vauxhal would win them a lot of business, particularly on the fleet car and van market where often big milages make economy a significant factor.

Remaps and rechips can improve efficiency as the orgional tune is generally a one size fits all and different markets have different requirements (being able to run well at -40C isn't generally a requirement in the UK but might be in some places) and once on the road the emissions requirements aren't as strict as they are for a new vehicle so there is some room to adjust things